Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Terriers Fall to Wooster in 2017 Finale

Terriers Fall to Wooster in 2017 Finale

May 1 – HIRAM, Ohio – The Hiram College women's lacrosse team completed the regular season by dropping a 22-7 decision to The College of Wooster on Monday evening at Charles A. Henry Field.

The Fighting Scots controlled the opening half, outscoring the Terriers 16-3 through the first 30 minutes of action.

After allowing the first five goals of the game, Hiram got on the board for the first time thanks to a free-position goal from Alyse Gillentine at the 23:53 mark. Following three more Scot goals, Hiram notched two of the next three, including markers from both Katelyn Slomovitz and Autumn Osgood, to cut the lead to 9-3.

Wooster would control the final 13 minutes of the half, scoring seven-straight goals, including two each from Laura Papp and Emma Lawrence, to push the advantage to 13 at the break.

The second stanza was played a bit closer, with Wooster holding a slight, 6-4, edge to round out the scoring at 22-7. Both Gillentine and Osgood picked up their second goals of the night, while the Hiram scoring was completed by Alexis Hirsch and Kayla Jenkins.

Playing in her final game in a Terrier uniform, Osgood finished the matchup with a pair of goals, giving her 67 on the season. The most prolific scorer in program history, Osgood completes her time with 19 single game, single season and career records.

2017 has been her best. Along with her goal total, she has also set career highs, and new Hiram standards with assists (20), points (87) and free-position goals. Her career numbers of 156 goals, 34 assists and 190 total points are all Terrier records.

Other leaders for the Terriers tonight included two goals from Gillentine, as well as one goal each from Slomovitz, Hirsch and Jenkins. Ray also finished the game with an assist and led the team with eight draw controls.

With her total, Ray became the all-time career leader in draw controls (173), just narrowly edging out Osgood's 172 career controls.

Along with Osgood, four other members played in their final home games at Charles A. Henry Field. Those players included Mercedes Jones, Kait Zemanski, Kayla Jenkins and Erin Smith. Smith and Jenkins were also four-year members of the program and join Osgood as the winningest class in program history.